top of page
TCHAIKOVSKY | The Tempest (Excerpt)Alpesh Chauhan | BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra | Chandos
00:00 / 07:50

Tchaikovsky Orchestral Works - Vol. 1

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

“Spellbinding Tchaikovsky packs an emotional punch - Alpesh Chauhan evidently has a tremendous flair for Tchaikovsky. Supported by stunningly responsive playing from the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, his interpretations brilliantly project the music’s theatrical excitement as well as its subtle and sophisticated orchestration.”


Erik Levi, BBC Music Magazine


“Chauhan proves in this disc that he loves Tchaikovsky and is not afraid to show it..[…]..I relished the luxuriant sound and was thrilled by Chauhan’s ability to communicate so naturally and powerfully.”


Marina Frolova-Walker, Gramophone

" is indisputable that the conductor and orchestra are ideal interpreters of this mercurial music, alive to every nuance and inflection. These are wild, free accounts in the best way: not ill-disciplined but constantly thrilling and released, happily indulging in rubato and rallentando; the playing is really superb."

Ralph Moore, MusicWeb International

"It serves as a testament to the cosmic talent and potential of Alpesh Chauhan, leaving no doubt that he is a conductor to watch closely in the years to come. With his captivating performances and unwavering passion, Chauhan is destined to continue creating musical dreams and pushing boundaries in the world of classical music."


Pierre Lamy, Qobuz

"Chauhan’s ability to conduct up a storm will take your breath away..[...]..In short, Chauhan’s Tchaikovsky is indeed the stuff dreams are made on, and the next instalment can’t come soon enough."


Katherine Cooper, Presto Music

bottom of page